ZAHRA TURKISH ICE CREAM

Yellaw! For now I am in the mood for posting anything about … ice cream. After posting about liquid nitrogen gelato, it’s time to tell ya about my not so good experience in tasting turkish ice cream. What I know about this kind of ice cream is their well-known demonstration before serve the ice cream. Let’s take a look.

image

A couple of months ago, I paid a visit to one of their booth at Kota Kasablanka. I can have it all the way in fast cause it also available in Mall Kelapa Gading. You know like you can’t see an elephant in the edge of eyes but an ant across the sea can be seen clearly.

The turkish ice cream is commonlly called dondurma. Dondurma typically includes the ingredients like milk, sugar, salep, and mastic. Two qualities distinguish turkish ice cream are texture and resistance to melting. Inclusion of the thickening agents salep, a flour made the root of the early purple orchid, and mastic, a resin that imparts chewiness. Dondurma is commonly sold from both street vendor’s carts and store fronts where the mixture is churned regularly with long-handled paddles to keep it workable. Vendors often tease the customer by serving the ice cream cone on a stick, and then taking away the dondurma with the stick and rotating it around, before finally giving it to the customer.

Since I am not anywhere near Turkey, so my expectation shouldn’t be that high. What made me so disappointed is they provide that long-handled paddle and barrel but I don’t know why they are not trying to tease me. I mean teasing like they supposed to do with my ice cream. 

image

After thinking a lil bit hard, probably I should ordered their 3 scoop of ice creams. They offered me 3 scoops of ice cream of chocolate, vanilla, and strawberry flavor for IDR 25k. First: I am not interested in the flavor they offered, second: I am full and don’t want to pretend that I capable to eat it all. So, I decided to order one scoop of hazelnut ice cream served in a cup

image

                                    A scoop of hazelnut ice cream for IDR 15k

and my friend ordered one scoop of (a bit forget but I guess) something like vanilla with additional oreo crunch on top of it.

image

                                          With one additional topping costs IDR 20k

Well, I tasted mine and get disappointed, I tasted hers and I disappointed all over again. The texture still in crystal in fact and wasn’t that sweet though. Don’t want to say it is recommended for you to try. Perhaps it is a sign to pay a visit to Turkey and have the original one !

image

Leave a Reply

